Author Topic: Short activity time  (Read 1059 times)

Offline Bestbees

• New & Learning The Ropes
  • Showing Appreciation 2
« on: January 15, 2014, 11:21:19 am »
Hi all

I am new to the and have 5.5 month old boy twins.

They are not good night sleepers so we are working on that. Timings in the day depend on wake up time and I follow their cues. Tends to be a bit more EAEAS as they need a little extra, bf two means they don't always get bit feeds.

They seem to be tired after only 1-1.5hrs before their first and second naps of the day. These are usually two hours then one hour. They sleep in the buggy in the day which I prefer. If they struggle I rock them, weaning off the feed to sleep. In the afternoon however it is really hard to get a cat nap out of them, and they end up being awake sometimes for more like three hours. Is it ok if I'm following their cues? Might this be causing NW?

Offline *Ali*

• Breast Feeding & Pregnancy/Childbirth
  • Forum Moderator
  • Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 373
  • Caught in the act!
Re: Short activity time
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2014, 21:49:01 pm »
Were they premature or full term? That might determine their typical A time if they were more than a few weeks early.
I would try to gradually increase their A times in the morning. It sounds like they are almost using that first nap as an extension to their night sleep and then by the second nap they are Undertired and so don't take a full nap. They probably can't get tired enough again to take the cat nap before BT but then end up really overtired and have lots of NWs. Then the disturbed night means they can't manage a full A time in the morning and the cycle begins again.
They are approaching the age when they will not need a third nap soon so you may just need to redistribute their two naps more evenly throughout the day. All about the 3-2 transition- 5/6 months