Author Topic: 20 month old suddenly taking short naps  (Read 1109 times)

Offline dkelly718

• New & Learning The Ropes
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: August 10, 2014, 19:00:09 pm »
Hi! I haven't been on here in a really long time which is a good thing because my lo was sleeping so well. However for the past week my lo has been waking up early from his nap. It seems like he has forgotten how to transition to the next sleep cycle which was a huge problem when he was younger. I am not sure what is going on, I am a teacher and since I had been home for the summer his sleep got even better he was sleeping   for about 11 hours at night and sleeping 2+ hours during the day. Now all of a sudden he is sleeping about 10/11 hours at night but naps are any where from 30-60 mins. He isn't teething and even if he was that has never been an issue he got 4 molars with no sign of pain. The only thing that happened was there was a bad storm during his nap one day and the thunder woke him up. He got scared so I went in picked him up and he fell back asleep on me it seems like since then his naps have been going downhill(not sure if that had anything to do with it or just a coincidence). His schedule is wake-up 8:00 nap around 1:30/2:00 and bed time 8:30/9:00 (depending on nap length and what time he woke up in the morning) Now he seems to be waking up a little bit earlier like 7:30am. If anyone can give any thoughts I would really appreciate it! 

Offline Buttonbobs

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 124
  • E - born 20/10/11
Re: 20 month old suddenly taking short naps
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2014, 20:03:12 pm »
It could be that he got scared with the thunderstorm and now needs a bit more reassurance, but yes it could be a coincidence. Perhaps his sleep needs are changing slightly. How long has it been since he has been taking ine two-hour nap?
~ Naomi ~

Offline dkelly718

• Showing Appreciation 0
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2014, 00:02:39 am »