Author Topic: 14week old baby, drinks pumped BM exclusively, hungry or self soothing at night?  (Read 1881 times)

Offline gioella

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
Hi! Im new to this forum and this is my first time posting here. My LO is 14wks, started 3hr EASY at about 5-6 wks. He has been drinking pumped milk exclusively with occasional breastfeeding. We dream feed between 1030-11. In the past, he had his NF initially between 2-3am, then it became around 3-4am, then 4-430am. Around his 3rd month, i thought he was going through growth spurt so we increased his milk intake from 4oz to 5oz. Then, he dropped the NF all together on his own. Right now, he is taking between 24-30oz of pumped breast milk in 24hours. I was initially worried about him dropping the NF. But he seems to be happy, playful and alert during the day, has about 6-7 wet diapers per day, has good night time sleep, naps are ok (still has issues transitioning onto next cycle but thats for a different post). He has been doing this for about a week now. But for the last two nights, he has been squirming so much at around 3-5am. He isnt really awake but just squirms a lot in his crib. He is swaddled with woombie so what he does is moves his hand towards his mouth and sucks during this time. Im not sure if he is hungry or just self-soothing. I have given him his soothie pacifier during this time and he will quiet down and sleep calmly. Should i keep on doing this or give him milk instead? Not really sure how to go about this. Thanks for your help!
**** Ella ****

Matthew's Mommy

Offline Erin M

• The Sentinel
  • Global Moderator
  • Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 521