Author Topic: DS is a good eater but...  (Read 1152 times)

Offline Tweakster

• Tweakster extraordinaire
  • Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 444
« on: November 02, 2010, 14:29:32 pm »
portion control is a bit of an issue.  He wants a lot of one thing but not much of another, or not one bit of another.  He'll typically 'try' everything on his plate but he won't eat everything.  Most things go in his mouth and straight back out again. 

Example
We serve chicken, rice and peas.
He'll want a whole chicken breast - yep that's right, sometimes even more - some rice but maybe only 2 peas.
We serve pasta with veg sauce.
He'll consume more than 1.5 cups of pasta - yep and asking for 'more' with his sign language - but completely eat around the green peppers.

So what do you do in these cases?  Say 'no more pasta, eat your peppers?' or feed him because if he's asking for more he's clearly hungry? 

I'm not very good with the whole eating thing really.  DH and I are both seriously picky eaters and we have our own food issues (like my addiction to chocolate and his inability to eat anything other than Marmite for the most part) and we are desperately trying to be a 'normal' family with 'regular' meals and mealtimes etc.
The tweaking never stops!

Offline anna*

• Showing Appreciation 900
  • My two
Re: DS is a good eater but...
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2010, 14:33:10 pm »
If he has tasted everything on his plate he is doing GREAT, and I'd let him have more of the bit he's eating. That's our rule - Stan doesn't have to eat everything on his plate but he does have to taste everything. You can always try 'let me see you eat two bites of rice, then I'll get you some more chicken', but he's probably too young for that.

Offline Mom to M&M

• Showing Appreciation 128
  • Cool dude!
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2010, 14:33:28 pm »