Author Topic: New here! So many ?s about my 5wk old...  (Read 984 times)

Offline MaddyMI

• New & Learning The Ropes
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: October 09, 2006, 16:21:24 pm »
Hi Everyone! 

I'm new here and am definitely looking for some guidance/advice.  My daughter is 5wks old today and I just started learning about BW and EASY over the past couple of days.  It sounds like a wonderful routine, but I need some help going from where we are to EASY.  I had pretty much been winging it doing on demand feeds and putting her to sleep and hoping for the best.  I'm breastfeeding, so she usually wakes every 2-3 hours to eat.  If she wakes at 2 hours, I can usually stretch it to 2 1/2 by holding/rocking her.  Also, she still needs to be swaddled most of the time to sleep.

I'll try to organize my questions...

E -
 -If she wakes and seems hungry (rooting, etc) at the 2-2 1/2 hour mark, is it okay to try to get her to 3 hours from her last feed?  It feels mean, and if she's really crying and I can't calm her, I just feed her.  She likes to do this esp at night (she's a little reversed right now with day and night)
 - She often will only eat from one side for upto 15 minutes, closer to 10 usually.  She then refuses the other side.  When I pump the other side, I get about 2-3 oz.  Is that ok?

A -
 -She likes to usually fall asleep after eating, so how do I keep her up?  She shows all the signs of being tired (yawns, big eyes, nodding off), so if we try to keep her up, I fear that it will just throw her off for the rest of the day.  I try to make even a diaper change or change of clothes be part of her awake time, but she often cries through it.
 - What do I do if she's awake and not hungry after sleeping?  Is there a way to reverse her slowly?
 -How long should I expect her awake times to be at this age?

S-
 -Right now, she does some longer stretches of sleeping, but they're in the daytime - how do I get her to do them at night?