Author Topic: CANNOT EXPRESS ANYMORE!!  (Read 1406 times)

Offline Fionabee

• New & Learning The Ropes
  • Showing Appreciation 0
CANNOT EXPRESS ANYMORE!!
« on: July 09, 2012, 20:36:57 pm »
HI, I've been BFing for 11 months, expressing sometimes in the early days in order to allow Daddy to feed, or if i had problems with pain etc.
The breast pump has been sitting idle for about 6 months now and since my boy chomped down a little too hard recently, I thought I'd express milk from that side until it stopped hurting.... but nothing came out!! I pumped and pumped and pumped and nothing. It was feeding time, I had milk, VERY STRANGE. I ended up BFing on that side anyway for lack of alternative.

Could it be:
- as Tom is so much bigger and stronger, he sucks harder than before and my breasts are used to this now and the pump isn't strong enough?
- the pump needs replacing after 6 months? It's broken??
- I've lost a lot of weight since birth and my breasts are much smaller (read TINY!)... could this be preventing good suction with the pump? It's a Philips Avent manual pump, which I've always found to be very good...

Has anyone else encountered this? Any thoughts on why? How to address it?
Thanks.

Offline anna*

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 900
  • My two
Re: CANNOT EXPRESS ANYMORE!!
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2012, 20:40:50 pm »
Not there yet but expecting it soon. Once my oldest turned about 10 months, I really couldn't get anything from expressing... don't know why, but know it's not that unusual.

Offline Fiver

• Showing Appreciation 152
  • Anyone for omelette?
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2012, 20:58:01 pm »