Author Topic: Wish Me Luck!!  (Read 1759 times)

Offline cazmilward

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: October 08, 2006, 16:00:31 pm »
Hello Everyone!

I have been having some real problems with my 4.5 week old son, William and a friend of mine suggested I read Tracey's books.  Well, "The Baby "Whisperer" arrived on Friday and I am chuffed to bits with it.

It has highlighted where i have been going wrong and shown me that I am falling into the 'accidental parenting' trap.  So, as of tomorrow morning, Will and I are going to be on the 3 hour EASY routine.

The one thing i am having trouble understanding is the dream feed?  How do i go about feeding Will whilst he is alseep without waking him??  It sounds a bit tricky to me!!

Wish us luck

Caz and Will x x

Offline jomige

• New, But Posting Steadily!
  • Showing Appreciation 3
Re: Wish Me Luck!!
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2006, 17:54:48 pm »
Caz (and Will),

I have been doing BW for about 1 1/2 months now, with my 12 week old.  I also thought the dream feed would be tricky but it has worked out great.  Give it a few nights to really work (or to get Will to take it).  Are you BF of bottle feeding?  I am BF and I found that if I pulled her lower jaw down with my finger and tickled her lips a bit she would latch on.  It took a few nights of that but now she takes it automatically when I tickle her lips and I don't have to help her on.  She never wakes up during any of this either.   Occasionally I have to stimulate her to continue sucking by pulling my nipple back to attempted to break the latch (she will always start sucking then) or by lightly stroking her jaw line.   
I have heard that with bottlefeeding it is easier...just tickle their lips and most will latch on but I have no experience with that.   I think the above tips may help with this too.