Author Topic: Need clarification of naps please  (Read 972 times)

Offline Jenna's Mum

• BW Aficionado
  • Showing Appreciation 2
Need clarification of naps please
« on: February 14, 2006, 01:50:14 am »
Hi, I'm new to the BW msg boards.  I've been following E.A.S.Y. from day one, and love it.  My 2 month old (9 weeks today) daughter seems to have fallen easily into a 3 hour EASY routine and sleeps well at night, just one waking between 3:30am and 5am usually, and after her feed goes right back to sleep until about 7am.  My question is about naps... we start our routine in the morning usually at around 7:30am with a feed, then "A" time is usually getting her dressed for the day, washing face, etc. and then she likes a little swing time.  When she shows sleep signs I swaddle her and take her to her room, rock her with her paci until I see stage 3 starting to show up which usually only takes 4 - 5 mins (this is our usual wind-down routine for all naps and bedtime), then put her in her crib and take away the paci.  She sleeps then for about 20-30 mins lovely.  Then she wakes up, and I go back in to help her get back to sleep.  So here comes my question (at last!)... sometimes she goes back to sleep no problem, but other times she won't and I have to keep going back again and again, and sometimes she's just not tired anymore so I get her up and we have a little "A" time until her next feed, seeing as she's not hungry either until about 3 hours has elapsed since the last feed.  So after we feed though, because she's been up before the feed, she hardly has any "A" time after other than a diaper change, and then she's yawning so I take her back to bed for another nap.  Then the whole cycle starts again so I feel like she's getting her "A" time in before the feed, with hardly any after it... is this okay?  Is the whole concept simply to disassociate feeds with sleep, so even if it's merely a diaper change between each that's okay?  When she's had some sleep but isn't sleepy