Author Topic: Have looked for answers...but still need help  (Read 832 times)

Offline TypicalNewMom

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
Have looked for answers...but still need help
« on: March 28, 2007, 03:30:25 am »
Hi...

This is my first time posting, but I've spent as much time as possible in the last week reading other posts to try and gain some perspective.  I am at my wit's end and need some help. 

Brady is 4 months old and has had a bit of a spoiled life so far.  He was born a month early and at 8 days old he had a choking episode that left him not breathing and then admitted to the hospital.  He has always slept on someone, or in someone's arms because he was comfortable there (bedtime he slept in his pack 'n play at the end of our bed).  Matters only got worse when we left our home in Virginia in February to travel cross country moving on military orders.  We spent weeks with family, and he was never put down.  Our drive was rough for him, so in the hotels we always held him to nap.  Now that we are finally in our homein California, I am trying to establish a routine with him and he's gotten unbearable.

He was a great night sleeper until I started this routine thing.  I don't know if he is resisting the change or just doesn't need the schedule, but I do.  He is pretty spirited when it comes to sleeping during the day, but nights have always been great.  Up until EASY, the evenings would consist of a catnap, bath, food, and bed.  He started sleeping through the night at 2 months.  Now, he's up pretty much every hour.  (I should also mention that it's only been a week that he's been sleeping in his own room, in a crib). 

This morning we did great on EASY, after a rough day yesterday.  I took some tips on getting him through the 45 minute jolts, and it worked well.  He's on a three hour routine, even though I'd like him to be on 4. 

Our day was like this today -

4 am - feed (I'd like to get rid of this one, but not sure how)