Author Topic: Question about bedtime routine  (Read 1002 times)

Offline Leasmom

• New & Learning The Ropes
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: May 02, 2007, 13:12:51 pm »
I am new to the BW and am trying to get my dd on EASY.
My dd is 8 months old and our bedtime routine has been consistent since she was maybe 5 months old. We do:
6.00 Solids
7: Bath/shower with either parent
7.10: baby massage
7.30: pj's (which she hates and gets very upset  :P)
then BF
7.45/50: straight to bed with paci

Well, now we are trying to disconnect Bf with going to sleep/soothing (allthough it works sooo well  :P, but apperantly makes her wake up more at night  :P) So my question is: what sould you do? Should I BF before massage or do the routine and put her pj's on and then read a bit to her/quiet play for 5-10 minutes and then off to bed?

How long is your bedtime routine? Ours is almost an hour, do you think it is to long or will she get used to it?  Do you give them solids at dinner time and rice cereal right before bed? that is a routine many parents in Iceland do (where we live) because they think it makes the babies sleep better  :P, don't know about that though...

All suggestions and BTDT well appreciated  :D

Offline Erin M

• The Sentinel
  • Global Moderator
  • Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 521
Re: Question about bedtime routine
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2007, 00:38:22 am »
What we did when we were preparing to drop the before bedtime BF (which would be the same if you were just moving it) is to slowly move it back in the evening.  In our case, we started reading a book after the bedtime BF, then added another book after, just to break up the time a bit.  We always did it after her bath though.  For a while we did a bottle before the stories, then we dropped that and now she just has some milk with/after dinner.  Since she hates the pjs so much, I might do your bf after that, and then do the reading and quiet play and see how it goes.