Author Topic: 4 1/2 month old starting to wake at 4 am.  (Read 889 times)

Offline Wendy2201

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
4 1/2 month old starting to wake at 4 am.
« on: June 12, 2012, 09:04:34 am »
Hello.
My LO is 20 weeks and has recently started waking up at 4 am. I'm fairly new to EASY and has really helped with dealing with nap time and routines.  He used to wake at different times around 4-6am for feeds, but he has been consistently 4am for a while now. I have tried putting dummy in and shush/pat to sleep as looked more sleepy than tired. Does sometimes have another 45 mins then wakes again, or like this morning 10 mins. In the end,  I fed him and he did sleep until his usual WU time if 7.
We have a nice bedtime routine and after his feed he goes to sleep without dummy on his own at 19.00/19.15. I'm having to shush/pay him during his naps to get any longer than 45 mins and hoping that he will get better at getting himself back to sleep soon. his A times during the day are 1hr50 to 2 hrs.

I'm not sure if this is normal for his age to be waking during the night as did have a period where he was sleeping thru. Created some bad habits before discovering BW so don't want to create anymore!

Any thoughts/ advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks, Wendy

Offline becj86

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 346
Re: 4 1/2 month old starting to wake at 4 am.
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2012, 09:42:42 am »
Its quite normal for a baby of 4.5 months to be wakings once or twice for a night feed. Waking soon after resettling like that almost always means hunger and frankly, I'd feed him and go back to bed.