Author Topic: Need help with bf to sleep  (Read 903 times)

Offline Emmas_mom

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
Need help with bf to sleep
« on: December 19, 2005, 17:07:04 pm »
Hi! I'm very new to this and could use a little, actually a lot of advice. I have 7 mo. old who will only sleep if she bf. I know I need to break this bad habit I created for her, but am having hard time. It's hard to follow the EASY plan and keep her on 4 hr. routine if I bf to sleep. Also, she wakes often at night. She was sleeping through the night with 1 night feed up until about 3.5 months. I need sleep desperately. I feel like such a bad mom for not teaching her how to self soothe. If I put her in crib she cries until she can't breathe. I've tried PU/PD only a couple of times so far, going as long as 3 hours and she doesn't let up with the crying. I eventually would bf to sleep. I have so much more to ask but I don't want to over do it with my first post. Thanks for your help in advance.

Offline Jaime

• Queen of the Wicker People
  • Administrator
  • Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 941
    • Laughable Lunacy
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2005, 17:46:43 pm »
hi there,

i have some thoughts & some things for you to read.

first, if you are truly ready for a change in the way your dd goes to sleep, and stays asleep, you need to make a decision to change, and then commit to keep it.  she is now 7 months old, and the only way she knows to sleep is by bf - because that is what she was taught.  not trying to make you feel angry or hurt, but trying to lay out all the facts.   :wink:   we can help you form a plan of action, but you need to be committed to seeing it through.  if you cave in (and feed her to sleep anyhow), it will make it that much longer and harder to change your lo's behavior.