Author Topic: 6 mo sleeping 10 min during the day  (Read 1156 times)

Offline Ninou

• New & Learning The Ropes
  • Showing Appreciation 2
« on: December 29, 2014, 22:00:39 pm »
Dear all,
I had a great help here before with working on naps for my older daughter and now I am back for advise.
My younger daughter is 6 mo now. Up till 4 mo there was no major issue with routine and naps and since than we were often sick, older child at home, guests, etc and my youngest routine is completely unexisting by now. She is eating each 3 - 4 hours (breastfeeding), starting each time different time during the day. There are quite some night wakings as well, but my major issue now are her naps. She might have 30 - 40 min nap in the morning (approx 3 hours after waking up) and afterwards that would be naps of 10 - 20 minutes. Even if she is in a sling, or in the baby wagon, or in a car. A small bump on a road or some noise - she has eyes wide open and impossible to get back t sleep. In the night she usually sleeps from 18.30 to 06.30 (with multiple night wakings). So I am really concerned about her naps as I am a strong believer that nap is very important for child developpment. Any tips where to begin?

Many many thanks in advance

Nina

Offline Kellyjs

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 80
Re: 6 mo sleeping 10 min during the day
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2014, 08:34:37 am »
Hi would you mind posting your easy for me so I can take a peek? 3hrs A seems about right for a 6mo, but a few days log might help me get a better understanding as to what's going on.

Is she an independent sleeper? Does she put herself to sleep ok? You imply she's out and about a lot for naps? Not a problem, it'll just help with a plan if we know what your usual day is like.

For us, those short naps were UT or discomfort related.

Offline Ninou

• Showing Appreciation 2
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2014, 09:40:12 am »
Dear Kelly,