Author Topic: Teaching almost 11 month old to ss- possible?!  (Read 600 times)

Offline Hollie-Mae

• New, But Posting Steadily!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
Teaching almost 11 month old to ss- possible?!
« on: July 26, 2014, 19:38:02 pm »
I've posted about getting my daughter to ss numerous times over the past 11 months, and here I am again! She is almost 11 mo, a severe reflexer but heavily medicated with now, gat success- thus the reason she doesn't self settle and has been rocked and driven to sleep. She did ss until 8wo and then life turned into hell. I am a primary school teacher and decided to wait until the summer to crack this once and for all, but I feel like a fish out of water, I have NO IDEA how to do this with a strong willed, standing and almost walking per toddler. Tonight I sat and patted her back until she was drowsy, almost sleeping, and then put her in the cot and all hell broke loose. My husband did his usual wanting to take her out in the car, and until now this has been the go to answer as its the only way he can help and she will always go off in the car. Can anyone give me step by step tips or is it just too late to even try this now? :(

Offline lauradj

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 61
Re: Teaching almost 11 month old to ss- possible?!
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2014, 03:58:30 am »
It is NEVER too late, and good for you for not letting hubby take her out in the car.  What you'll need to keep in mind is this isn't necessarily going to be a quick fix, it may take several weeks to really teach her how to self settle.  The good news is, there's lots your hubby can do to help!
What is your bedtime routine with her?  Can you post your EASY so we can take a look?  Both would be really helpful.

Offline Hollie-Mae

• New, But Posting Steadily!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2014, 11:24:20 am »
I know that quick fix doesn't exist, sadly, haha!