Author Topic: 8 wo and short naps  (Read 1972 times)

Offline Padicindy

• BW Aficionado
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: May 15, 2009, 02:24:55 am »
Hi there I am new to BW, have been trying to implement EASY on my baby since she returned home. The routine became more stable lately and she is comfortable on a 3 hour routine. However, her naps are sometimes short (45 minutes or an hour) and she would wake up tired and grouchy. So I know it is insufficient for her and I need to help her extend her naps.

I have been trying W2S (putting pressure on her joints when she jerks) for the past 2 days. I would stay with her after she has fallen asleep for about 15 minutes, and put pressure on her joints when she jerks. When she has transited into deep sleep, I would go out of the room. At the 35th minute, I return and watch. When the jerks come on again, I would do the same. If she gets too roused by the jerks, I would pat her back into sleep.

Sometimes, when she isn't OS, she would be able to transit to the next sleep cycle fairly easily with my help. But on other times, she would continue to have difficulties doing so.

Am I doing it right? Sometimes I get so tired from watching her that I fall asleep myself!  :P Her EASY schedule looks like this:

E  7am
A  8.30am (including wind down)
S  8.30am - 10am (with help from me to coax her back to sleep)
Y

E 10am
A 11.30am
S 11.30am - 1pm
Y

E 1pm
A 2.30pm (including bath)
S 2.30pm - 4pm
Y

E 4pm
A 5.30pm
S 5.30pm - 7pm (she don't usually take the whole nap here, she catnaps usually for about 45 mins)
Y

A 7pm - 7.30pm
E 7.30pm (including wind down)
S 8.30pm - next morning 7am

Tried to coax her back to sleep this morning for her first nap again, and she kept waking up from her jerks!! I get so discouraged sometimes but its only day 3!

Offline Padicindy

• BW Aficionado
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2009, 08:58:47 am »