Author Topic: Too Short Naps?  (Read 1008 times)

Offline T.O.Mum

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: February 08, 2010, 21:08:22 pm »
Hi - This is my first time posting and was looking for help with my 3.5 month old.  He won't generally nap for more then 1/2 an hour at a time and I'm wondering if he should be sleeping for longer and if so how to extend his naps.  I've tried letting him cry for a bit in his crib but he normally doesn't settle himself and I've also tried going in when he first stirs to see if I can get him back down but he's normally wide awake and won't go down again.  His routine is essentially as follows:

7:00 am - wake up, feed and play until about 8:30 then a little quite time about 5 - 10 min then put down for nap.  I usually rock him to sleep then put him in his crib but lately I've been trying to put him in his crib and stay in his room shhing and patting him until he falls asleep without me.  There has been some success with this.

Around 9:00/9:30ish he wakes up and I'll try to sshh him but he normally won't go back to sleep so I'll place him in his swing so he'll hopefully get a bit more sleep and let get some chores done.  He normally falls asleep again till his next feeding time.

10:00 repeat all of the above and he normally goes down around 11:30ish and then up again a half hour or so later so I repeat the above.

1:00 pm repeat above

4:00 repeat above

7:00 add in a bath every other night then a little quiet time then straight to bed with no activity time.  He generally goes down but about7:30/8:00ish

10:00 dream feed

3:30/4:00 am quick feed

7:00 am repeat all of the above.

Thanks in advance for any help, Michelle

Offline becky1969

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 230
  • my favorite thing
Re: Too Short Naps?
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2010, 23:17:09 pm »