Author Topic: Weaning/Reflux/Breastfed  (Read 1597 times)

Offline *Heidi*

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: November 29, 2010, 16:46:17 pm »
Hello,
I am after some advice...having a bad day. Will tell you some background first then a list of questions after!
My little man was born in may has been exclusively breastfed for 6 months. After a rocky start of not gaining his birth weight for 5 weeks, he has put weight on according to the 9th centile. He was diagnosed with reflux at 5 weeks old, so has been on gaviscon and ranitidine ever since. This greatly improved his sickness and arching back etc...Hence the eventual weight gains! I have been weaning down his gaviscon every 4 weeks since about 4 months old, and now down to 4 times a day of single sachets. (Taken in 15mls of water via a Tommee Tippee CTN bottle). His sickness has remained as it was from being on gaviscon full dose. Which is a small possett 3 times a day. Nothing to write home about.
S sleeps through the night 7-7 and has done since 3 months old. Woken up on the odd occasion for a feed when he has been poorly. His daily routine kind of goes:
7am BF
8.30 Nap
10am BF
11.30 Nap
1pm BF
2.30 Nap
4pm BF
6pm Bath
7pm BF then Bed
As of 2 weeks ago I started to wean... 1st week 1 taster a day after 1pm BF... which he loved so next week have done solids at 8 and 2. He has fruit puree mixed with a little porridge or readybrek in morn and an ice cube of veg puree and an ice cube of fruit puree at lunch. I had him weighed last week and he had put on only 1oz in 5 weeks! Still within the 9th centile... just at the bottom end. So HV not concerned... just to crack on with the weaning. Hence why I added in another meal. He loves his solid and gets upset when it has finished.
Development wise... He is sitting up unaided for about 3-5 mins, rolls front to back and can almost go back to front.
Now for the Problems....