Author Topic: 8 mo not interested - but having night feeds again!  (Read 1522 times)

Offline Bonzo23

• BW Aficionado
  • Showing Appreciation 1
8 mo not interested - but having night feeds again!
« on: June 20, 2011, 20:18:28 pm »
DS2 has been difficult to feed from the off.  Very erratic apetite.  Been to the gp, had lots of hv support - no diagnosis of anything, just sluggish gut and self-monitoring - but suddenly 2 weeks ago he's pooing every day, he's not nearly so windy and he's taking a bottle every 4 hours.  Yay.  But it's literally every 4 hours - so 3 am he wants a 9 oz bottle.  Trouble is he's not interested in solids in the slightest.  I've been offering purees and finger food for 2 months now and he opened his mouth for a spoon for the first time on wednesday.  I'm now managing to get maybe a teaspoon into him at every meal.  He then gulps down his bottle - so he is hungry.  He wants to feed himself but gags on breadsticks/carrots/broccolli/toast/cheese and after 5 minutes of chewing and gagging spits everything out.  He's very good at getting everything out of his mouth...  I know I probably just need to be patient but these 3 am feeds are killing me.  They're not always 3 am btw - anywhere between 2:45 and 4:30 am - and I can hear his tummy rumbling so he is hungry and it's not a habit.  I plan on reducing this bottle down to 5 oz tonight as I figure he's not very hungry at breakfast.  Any other ideas?

Offline ~inbalance~

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 272
Re: 8 mo not interested - but having night feeds again!
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2011, 01:45:30 am »