Author Topic: How to move to move to 3 meals a day?  (Read 1879 times)

Offline SamsmumKaren

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: July 12, 2011, 07:27:33 am »
Hi all,

I'm new to this so apologies if this is a common question, but I can't seem to find an answer anywhere.

My little boy is nearly 7 months, he has been taking solids (and loving them) for a good 2 months, I am unable to get a full bottle down him in the days (dream feed is fine though) so have been giving him 4 ounces before food which is working fine. Our 4ish feeding schedule is as follows;

7.30 - 4 oz bottle and breakfast cereal
11.30 - 4 oz and food
3.00 - 4 oz and food
6.15 - 4 oz and food
bed for 7pm and then dream feed (6-7oz) about 10.15. He is mostly sleeping through the night, although is waking about 3am and unable to settle himself - I know I need to 'wake to sleep' with him just havent got round to it yet  :-[

My question is this... my health visitor says that he should be moving onto just 3 solid meals a day plus snacks..... What do I do?, drop a feed and come off the 4 hour routine?, or try and replace it with a full bottle? (which I know he will refuse). ??? I'm confused and reluctant to mess with his schedule as since being on it he has slept through the night generally (before was 2 night feeds).

Also I read that the dream feed can be dropped at 7 months or when solids are established which is about now, do you just take it away all together and then do the shush/pat if he wakes up. Or move it earlier so it eventually becomes the last feed before bed?

Im getting a bit confused at the moment, I thought I was getting to grips with everything then you hear different advice! Help me someone!

Thanks

Karen

Offline toffer

• BW Aficionado
  • Showing Appreciation 3
Re: How to move to move to 3 meals a day?
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2011, 17:43:16 pm »