Author Topic: 8 months old and BLW - how to reduce bottles?  (Read 1146 times)

Offline Littlemissbump82

• New & Learning The Ropes
  • Showing Appreciation 0
8 months old and BLW - how to reduce bottles?
« on: September 05, 2011, 11:51:36 am »
Hi, I have been doing BLW since 6 months with my 8 1/2 month old - it is going well and she is eating more and more. She is still on 4 bottles a day and I am not sure if I need to be reducing her bottles by now? She seems to fill herself up on her milk and play with her food, but I know from changing her nappies that she actually eating some! She went through a stage a couple of weeks ago of waking up in the night and drinking up to 8oz of milk but I think this must have been a growth spurt/teething as she is back to sleeping through now ... Her EASY is roughly:

E - 7.30am (6oz milk)
A - including breakfast (weetabix/porridge)
S - 9.30am (1 hour - 1.5 hours)

E - 11.30 (5oz milk)
A - including lunch (sandwich or toast, fruit, cucumber/tomatoes etc)
S - 2 (approx. 1 hour - 1.5 hours)

E - 3 (5oz milk)
A - including dinner (veggies/chicken/pasta, yogurt, fruit etc) at 5.30 and bath at 6
(we cut the afternoon nap out but sometimes if I have to go out in the car she does have a 30 min before dinner)
E - 6.30pm (6-7oz milk)
S - bed at 7pm

Do I need to be cutting out the lunchtime bottle? Also, should I be giving her any of her milk in a sippy cup yet? She has water in a sippy cup with her lunch and dinner but I've never tried milk in there. Thank you for your help x

Offline Shiv52

• The Diplomat
  • Global Moderator
  • Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 585
Re: 8 months old and BLW - how to reduce bottles?
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2011, 11:59:29 am »
At 8 months LOs still need to be getting about 500-600mls of milk so 20 oz in a day.  Given that she only takes 5oz twice in the day I would be inclined  to leave it as it is.  Most people start to think abotu cutting a bottle if they are getting refused.