Author Topic: How to introduce whole milk? Gradually or cold turkey?  (Read 4225 times)

Offline Mia's Mommy

• New, But Posting Steadily!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
How to introduce whole milk? Gradually or cold turkey?
« on: October 19, 2011, 14:17:47 pm »
My DD turned 1 this past Monday and I'm wondering how to introduce whole milk into her diet? Gradual or cold turkey switch all formula to milk?  Below is her routine...

7am Wake
730  6oz formula
830  Breakfast
11-1 Nap
130  Lunch
3     4oz formula
430-530  Nap
715  Bath, 6oz formula, Bedtime

Offline Lemonthyme

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 29
    • Mamacook
Re: How to introduce whole milk? Gradually or cold turkey?
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2011, 14:58:26 pm »
I have no experience of FF but I switched each feed with breastfeeding.  By that time though we were down to two feeds and so I switched the morning feed and presumably my supply dropped a bit because he started to drop the night feed.  That said, at 17 months I have now introduced an afternoon cup of milk back in because of hunger.

Just give it a go, you might be surprised.  Switching from a bottle or cup of formula to a cup of milk I reckon is a smaller jump than going from breastmilk but you might find she's absolutely fine with it.  If she's not you can go back and try another strategy like mixing them and gradually increasing the amount of cow's milk.

I have heard loads of people say their LOs had more milk when it was formula but it's advised (in the UK anyway) to switch to a cup around this age and most people combine the changes.  Lots of babies I know will have milk from a bottle (or the boob) because it's comforting as much as because they're hungry.  That said, my son will drain a cup every morning and most evenings now and if you are worried about the milk intake, remember at 1 they need 1 pint or the equivalent in food so you can give yoghurt, cheese etc and you soon get there.