Author Topic: 'That's yukky'  (Read 1481 times)

Offline Tweakster

• Tweakster extraordinaire
  • Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 444
« on: December 30, 2011, 18:11:45 pm »
So this is becoming a regular occurrence.  Everything offered has become 'that's yukky'.  Or 'that's really yuk mommy' or 'no I not eat that, it's very yukky'.  Nose wrinkled and pushing it away or refusing to have it on his plate at all.  Even stuff he used to like!

Do you respond?  Or do you just say 'I'm sorry you don't like it but that's what we are eating'?  I'm not sure what to do with these verbal attacks we are getting lately *sigh*  I'm afraid I'm not very good at handling them because next thing I know I'm arguing with my kid.
The tweaking never stops!

Offline my3girlsjde

• Sometimes a superpower is simply surviving the chaos.....
  • Showing Appreciation 115
  • Reflux, sleep apnea and food allergies
Re: 'That's yukky'
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2011, 18:16:10 pm »
Totally been there :( and D is far more prone to do it. I simply say "ok, sorry you don't like it" and then drop it. Because she'll reel me in every time ::) And you know what? When I'm not looking, she goes back and eats it >:(  It's infuriating at times that she plays us like that, but I think she's trying to get a sense of where her reactions stand amongst things if that makes any sense.
At one point I was serving her an empty plate at supper time.
Vicki - nursing student and proud mother to three refluxers in two years

Remembering my sleeping angels: 17 Jan 06, 30 Jul 09

Offline Shiv52

• The Diplomat
  • Global Moderator
  • Showing Appreciation 585
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2011, 18:23:36 pm »
We used to get 'UGH...that (insert ANY food here) is stinky, I am not eating stinky food'.....dinner was always worst when she was tired but certainly not reserved to dinner.