Author Topic: 5 weeks old and already taking 5oz and wanting more - Help!  (Read 5880 times)

Offline Toni_Win

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
5 weeks old and already taking 5oz and wanting more - Help!
« on: January 27, 2012, 12:51:24 pm »
Hi Everyone, I'm very new to everything here.  Ben is my first baby and is coming up to 5 weeks old now.  For the first 3 weeks we were BF, but then I got infective mastitis and a breast absess and spent a week in hospital on IV antibiotics.  During that time my milk stopped, even though I had continued to try and feed and express milk, it just wasn't happening.  So we had to switch to FF.  We've been home a week now and FF and am now trying to get to grips with EASY.  My main concern though is that Ben is eating too much, especially as we're supposed to be on a 3 hour cycle.  I'm really struggling.

I think Ben should be having about 4oz at this age, during the day.  So I'm making bottles to be 5oz as that's what the HV told me to do, and to expect him to leave the last oz.  But he very rarely does.  If I try and take the bottle away before he's finished he fusses and continues to make suckling noises, so I give him the rest of the bottle.  He then usually falls asleep while I try and wind him, so sometimes he's not getting the activity time he needs.