Author Topic: From breast to bottle - gradual weaning not working.  (Read 1654 times)

Offline HBabyG

• New & Learning The Ropes
  • Showing Appreciation 1
From breast to bottle - gradual weaning not working.
« on: October 27, 2012, 20:07:52 pm »
I am having a real problem weaning my 5 month old DD from breast to bottle and am starting to question what is the best thing to do.  Please offer some advice, anything, I'm so confused.  I would like to be able to gradually reduce her breastfeeds by replacing them with a bottle and be completely weaned by 6 or 7 months.  Her normal feed times are 8am, 11.30am, 2.30pm, 6pm

Here is the background: I have some experience of moving from breast to bottle with DD1 - after a couple of days of DH offering a bottle instead of breast at all feeds (and me pumping) DD1 took the bottle happily and then I could combine feed for a while until I gradually reduced breastfeeds until all feeds were bottles at 7 months.  With DD2 it is not going like that at all.  After using the same approach she has taken the bottle, and at times has downed a full 8oz bottle fairly quickly, not gulping, no milk spilling out, looks like a baby that has always had a bottle.  The problem is that she will go hours not taking the bottle when offered when I know she must be hungry and then ends the day not having taken enough milk and is starting to wake hungry in the night.  She doesn't complain about the bottle and will chew the teat when the bottle is offered but only seems to take milk from it several hours after her normal feed time, so not really replacing a normal feed at all.  Today for example I fed her at 8am and 11.30pm (normal times) and then offered a bottle at 2.30pm but only took 4oz at 5.30pm and no 6pm feed.  I am confused about what to do.  Am I doing the right thing?  If the gradual weaning is not working should I stop breastfeeding altogether and give all feeds on the bottle?  It seems so sudden but it feels like doing things gradually is on