Author Topic: Night waking 8 month old  (Read 1154 times)

Offline falcon6

• New, But Posting Steadily!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: January 18, 2013, 10:28:07 am »
Hi this is my first time posting but I have found this forum a great help. My lo has been a great sleeper until the past month - angel baby, sleeps through, requiring very little settling, only long-term issue is short naps but she wakes happy so have just gone with it. Over Christmas we had a few disruptions (like everybody) including a bad cold and some nights away from home.  During this time we let her into our bed a few times and had a lots of naps 'on the fly'. Her routine changed and she dropped to 2 naps and an earlier bedtime (7 instead of 8) so I don't know if our troubles are related to that.
So our situation now is that she is settling great for naps (between 30-90 mins) and fairly ok at bedtime but... she is waking very easily during the night and crying her little heart out. I have been making some pathetic attempts at pupd but find she doesn't stop crying in my arms either and I get quite worked up myself which doesn't help. Often when we do settle her, she will wake again, sometimes within 10 mins. Three nights ago, she had woken 5 times by 10pm. We have been buckling and letting her sleep in our bed but that is officially over now as I know its not helping! She does appear to be teething but has already got 6 teeth which gave no hassle. Two nights ago, we gave ibuprofen and she slept through although cried out now and again but.. last night, with ibuprofen again, she was as unsettled as ever. She is also in a 'stormy' wonder week.

I am wondering is there an issue with our new daytime routine that is knocking her off, whether its just a 'developmental' stage.. and also looking for advice on coping with pupd (hubbie is agree support and more patient than me!)

Our routine is;
6.30 Wake and bottle
7.30 Brekkie
9.30 Nap (usually 45 mins but varies)
12.00 Lunch