Author Topic: 4 month old night feeds getting earlier  (Read 3445 times)

Offline LovelyLilyandJack

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 44
  • Formerly lovelylily
4 month old night feeds getting earlier
« on: July 05, 2013, 02:21:25 am »
The last few weeks my 4 month old has been waking for a feed earlier in the night and we're now on the verge of going back to 2 nf plus a dream feed.  He was consistently making it to 3.30 before waking,  then he pushed it back to 4/5 or even 5.30 and then slept til 7/7.30. But now he wakes at 2.30 / 2.45 most nights and then again at 6.15 ish for the day.  I leave him til he's properly crying and if I try to sshh him he just gets worked up (though admittedly I haven't given this great efforts yet). He always takes a good feed,,  goes back down awake and self settles.  He doesn't wake any other time in the night.

Is this normal at this age?  My daughter was sttn by now so I have no experience of this. It's not a growth spurt cos it's been going on for a while and he had one only about 2 - 3 weeks ago. He's on a 4 hour EASY and has a df at 10.30.  Is there anything else I can do to encourage a longer stretch at night again?

Offline goldmom

• Showing Appreciation 23
Re: 4 month old night feeds getting earlier
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2013, 13:47:55 pm »
Good luck, I'm going through something similar!

We were feeding between 2:30-3:30, and then she moved it to between 1:30-2:30. Generally either way she sleeps till morning after that, but I'm not sure why she's not stretching till later in the night for her feed. I try hard to keep it at DF plus 1 NF, and all other NW are just resettled (I try to feed only if she wakes up after 1 AM and not before). I rarely have any NW between 3:30-6:15 anymore (occassionally I would get an early WU at 5:30 which I was able to resettle)

4 months is a huge growth spurt and everything changes, so good luck! I'm also watching this post.

Offline katie80

• Showing Appreciation 220