Author Topic: Am I giving too much solids?...  (Read 2799 times)

Offline Maria14

• New, But Posting Steadily!
  • Showing Appreciation 1
« on: July 23, 2013, 13:28:23 pm »
My DD is 6.5 months, we started weaning at 4.5 months and were quickly established on three meals, lately been having chicken and cheese containing purees as well as yogurt.
As DD is breastfed and we never had luck with bottle, I started training her to use a free flow sippy cup at around 4.5 months and she is doing well drinking from it although cant quite hold it with both hands yet.
I started substituting one feed with expressed milk from sippy, sometimes I mix it with formula depending on how much I can express, this is our 11am feed, several days ago I also gave sippy cup at 2.30-3 pm feed and she jus had breast morning and eve before bed.
This is what I am worried about and need any advice on- she is not interested in 11am feed-I know they cut down on it and especially that she eats quite a lot of solids, but I am still worried as she is quite young to cut that feed down/out. I can get max 90 mls into her with the second half of it I need to distract her as she turns her head away etc though she would happily take first 30 mls or so. I would not worry about it but what is happening also is that she is refusing lunch and again she will eat a couple if spoon fulls and if I want I get her to eat the rest I have to distract her which I know isn't good practice or let her play and try again in 30 mins, she will then eat more.
At 2.30 feedagain the max she would take is 90-100 mls..
I am wondering if I am giving her too much solids or whether she isn't keen on sippy cup and protests as wants the breast.
This is our schedule for eating:
5 am - breast
7 am- top up, up for the day
8 am - bfast about 90 mls of porridge or yogurt with fruit
11 am - milk from sippy, 90 mls max
12 pm- lunch
3 pm - milk from sippy, around 100 mls max