Author Topic: bottle aversion caused by silent reflux?  (Read 3932 times)

Offline lillysmummy

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
bottle aversion caused by silent reflux?
« on: August 08, 2013, 17:12:56 pm »
hey everyone
im new to this but looking for some advice - to make a long story short basically my little girl has just been diagnosed with silent reflux she will be 17 weeks on Monday - i had noticed issues around 6 weeks but i found our doctor less than helpful and told me it was in my imagination! GRR anyway she has basically been on bottle strike for the last two weeks i can only feed her asleep. if she sees the bottle while awake she screams blue murder she wont eat at all while awkae and the amount of milk she drinks while asleep has been lessening. i got 15oz into her yesterday.

has anyone over come bottle aversion?? can anyone give me some tips or advice??
Thanks

Offline Lolly

• Bottle Feeding, Discipline and Socialization
  • Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 318
Re: bottle aversion caused by silent reflux?
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2013, 18:56:57 pm »
Hi there and welcome.

Is her reflux being treated? If so with what and how much and for how long now? It does sound like a bottle aversion from the pain, until her reflux is under control you will find it difficult to change how things are so keep feeding her any way you can.

Which formula is your DD on - have you tried a reflux formula or a thickener?

How often are you trying to feed her and which teat is she on now?

Sorry for all the questions! I have 2 refluxers so {{HUGS}} it's really hard, but there is light at the end of the tunnel. Have a look here too, it's a link from the colic, reflux and crying board Reflux 101 - General reflux information

Laura

Offline lillysmummy

• Showing Appreciation 0
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2013, 20:43:16 pm »
Hi Laura,
Im Laura also :-)