Author Topic: EASY on weekends  (Read 762 times)

Offline amycyt

• New, But Posting Steadily!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
  • New to EASY
EASY on weekends
« on: September 16, 2013, 07:04:58 am »
Hi I am new to EASY.  I would like to ask people who have successfully implemented EASY to share your experiences.

How is it possible to maintain EASY on weekends but at the same time you want to enjoy your weekends out side the house?  Whether do fun things with friends and families or have special occasions to attend.  Things that you can't avoid to do without bringing your LO with you.  You might be able to keep the feeding schedule no matter where you go, but what about naps? 

Also for example, you dine out on weekends and can't come home by 7pm for your LO's bedtime.  Is it ok to let the LO to sleep late for one or two nights per week?  Would it throw off the next day routine? 

For me, the hardest part to understand EASY is to be consistent but be flexible at the same time.  What does it mean and how do you do it?

Offline Buttonbobs

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 124
  • E - born 20/10/11
Re: EASY on weekends
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2013, 18:16:54 pm »
Hi there, so the first thing about the flexible routine is it isn't really flexibility from day to day but the flexibility comes from following your child's lead rather than following the clock. So while you might broadly follow a three or four hour EASY (or longer with older LOs) you don't rigidly stick to the 3/4 hours and if your LO seems particularly tired on any particular day would wait for sleepy cues & go for an earlier nap.

The consistency comes from following the same EAS pattern in the same way each cycle using the same wind down routine and your LO knows what to expect next. This usually helps with the routine and also hps you to understand your child's cues.