Author Topic: Advice wanted- to eliminate or not?  (Read 2025 times)

Offline boyomum

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: September 25, 2013, 17:03:29 pm »
Hi All,

I'm hoping to learn from your collective wisdom as I am new to the world of allergies!

I have a 3 month old daughter who has recently been diagnosed as having a milk allergy after going to the doctor with a bad ezcema outbreak on her head/ear/cheeks.  The doc did not do any kind of tests but made the diagnosis from seeing the ezcema. She is breastfed apart from one bottle of formula a day.  All diary has been eliminated from my diet for a week now.  I was told to put her on Neocate for her one bottle of formula but she hated it.  I tried mixing it with my milk etc but gave up after 2 days as she was so unhappy and she remains on her old hypo-allergenic formula.  The ezcema has improved but not gone.  There is also a new patch but much less serious.

Since birth she has always had tummy troubles with bad wind (farts) and stomach cramps but these have now calmed down considerably to the point that she hasn't had any cramps for 2 weeks and there is much less wind.  We have also just moved country (3 weeks ago) so she has had to cope with lots of change in terms of environment, climate, water etc etc.  The reason I started supplementing her with formula is that early on she had problems with weight gain.  While she is now gaining weight she is still skinny and on the small side hence my reluctance for her to skip bottles and feeds in the fight to get her to take the Neocate.  Otherwise in general she is a happy baby - just small, farty and with a flaky face but with endless smiles and curiosity!!

I am now trying to decide how seriously to take the allergy diagnosis.  I plan to stay on the elimination diet so the large majority of her diet is diary free but do I need to also get her off her bottle of formula (which I am reluctant to do because of the weight gain issues)?