Author Topic: How do I do the EASY routine with a catnapping 5.5 month old?  (Read 3753 times)

Offline Mayflower7

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
This is my first time posting here and I'm hoping the BW community will have some help for me!

I've tried for a very long time (since DS was about 8 weeks) to get a proper EASY routine going, but we are still all over the place. The main problem is that since about 9 weeks, he has only ever cat napped (30 mins). 

He is 5.5. months now and still only catnaps. We have no schedule to speak of. We do have a general pattern which is eat, play, sleep. But, nothing ever really happens at the same time, day after day, if you see what I mean. One day, he may wake up at 6.00 am, on another at 7.00. So because I follow his wake times, bed times also vary day to day, from 6pm to 7pm.

Each time, I put him down for his first nap 90 mins to 2 hours after he wakes. The morning time is the only time during which I can reliably read his tired signals (eye rubbing, lowering head when carried), and put him down without relying on the wake-time length too much. He self settles in his cot and wakes 30 mins later. I'm not sure why but his tired signals are much more difficult to read and interpret during the rest of the day so I always put him down too late or too soon for the other naps. I often end up putting him in the pram just to make sure he sleeps and we prevent ot/ut.

I am really confused by so many things I should be doing. Here is a whole list  :)

- Should I keep following his awake/tired rhythm, or should i give up on this and schedule naps at the same time each day? Is scheduling something he's likely to get used to? I've heard that some babies take about a week to get used to a scheduled nap time and then 'naturally' go to sleep at this time.