Author Topic: 6 weeks today - probably should have been more earnest sooner  (Read 1082 times)

Offline Lynnieowl

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
6 weeks today - probably should have been more earnest sooner
« on: August 03, 2014, 20:58:01 pm »
Hi everyone,

I'm a total newbie to the forums, and was excited to find them after reading Tracy's book twice. Once before my little guy was born, and just recently again. I've been trying to implement EASY but fear I'm not doing a good job, and would love suggestions.

I think the biggest issue is that I don't really know how "flexible to be" when it comes to each day. It's been a hectic 6 weeks - I have not been able  to just be at home with the baby and do the same thing each day. My husband lives 100 miles away, didn't have the ability to take any time off from work and travels a lot,  and he has a 12 year old that also needs attention and care (mostly from me while he is at work) and desperately wants to spend time with her new baby brother since they won't live together during the school year.

In 4 more weeks my mom will be coming up to help me as I'll be bad to work as a medical resident in anesthesia (read - terrible hours) and she will do most of the daytime care and I'll do the evening/night on my own.mim petrified - because I want to have him on some sort of schedule before I start working 14hr days and I get no sleep.

For the most part he is a textbook baby (although can be spirited in some aspects like his dad!) but gets totally crazy sometimes and I struggle to get him off the OT ledge. At those times he is a total bear to get to nap, and I don't know how to improve that. 

At the moment I have 3 questions -
1)He often falls asleep right after a feed, even if it's not a huge amount, thereby missing the entire A section of the program. I'm not sure what to do about this because by the end of the day he doesn't want to nape or his sleep at night becomes very short.