Author Topic: Just starting, need help! 9 month old wakes 3-4 times/night  (Read 1055 times)

Offline angie422

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
Just starting, need help! 9 month old wakes 3-4 times/night
« on: January 06, 2015, 17:17:36 pm »
I just finished reading Tracy's book, so I'm very new to the EASY method. My 9 month old has been waking to feed at least 3-4 times every night since she was about 4 months old. I haven't been successful at getting her on the EASY method yet because I've been nursing her to sleep since she was born. So I know that once I stop nursing her to sleep I'll probably have an easier time, but I really just need some advice on how to start. She REFUSES to take a pacifier or a bottle, so what I don't know what to do. Sometimes I can rock her to sleep, but most of the time she ends up getting so worked up that the only thing I can do to calm her down is to nurse her. Her schedule isn't consistent but here is a rough outline of what it's like:

7-8am - wake/nurse
8am - eat breakfast
8am-10am - play
10-11am - nurse to sleep for first nap
11-12pm - wake/nurse
12-1pm - lunch
1-2pm -play
2-3pm - nurse to sleep for 2nd nap
3-4pm - wake/nurse
4-6pm  - play/activity
5-6pm - dinner
6-8pm - more play
8-9pm - nurse to sleep for nighttime
11-12am - 1st night wake for feeding (sometimes I can just hold her and she'll fall back asleep)
1-2 am - 2nd night wake for feeding (I have to nurse to back to sleep or she gets hysterical)
4am - 3rd night wake for feeding
6am - 4th night wake for feeding (this only happens once in awhile)

I really think that she's a textbook baby but I've just instilled some bad habits in her. I just need a little direction on how I can get her to be an independent sleeper when she won't take a bottle or a pacifier. Thank you!

Offline Ima shel Alon

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 204
  • Alon was once a tiny baby
Re: Just starting, need help! 9 month old wakes 3-4 times/night