Author Topic: What if baby doesn't cry but awake after 45mins, what to do?  (Read 8000 times)

Offline newbie_momsie

• BW Aficionado
  • Showing Appreciation 0
What if baby doesn't cry but awake after 45mins, what to do?
« on: April 26, 2015, 18:09:06 pm »
Hello!

I am new to the BW forum and read both of Tracey's book for infants. We started to teach our baby to sleep at 5 weeks old and she is now 4 months old. She is a great sleeper most of the time and she is usually pretty good at falling asleep And back to sleep. We always swaddle her awake in the crib and she goes to sleep on her own.

I have 2 issues:
1. My baby is pretty happy baby who doesn't cry. She babbles a lot though especially to let us know she is awake with loud squeals and yelps. Sometimes she wakes up after the first 1 hr of her sleep (she usually naps for 100-120 mins) and wont fall back to sleep. What should I do? We don't do pu/pd cuz she isnt crying. We end up rock and pat until she gets drowsy again since leaving her alone to fall back to sleep doesnt work in these rare occasions. But i really prefer to fall back to sleep on her own and not make this a habit/prop.

2. we are on a 3.5 hr routine usually to keep her 6 feeds at 100ml per feed. I cant see how 4 hr routine would work because my bb will lose a feeding from 6 to 5 and there is no way i can get bb to consume more than 100 ml if i have to increase the amount to cover the one missing feeding. Is it ok to stay on the 3.5 hr routine as the book scared me about bb having sleep issues if bb doesnt move to a 4 hr routine.

Looking forward to some help! Thanks so much!

Offline creations

• Feeding Solid Food & EASY
  • Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 496
Re: What if baby doesn't cry but awake after 45mins, what to do?
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2015, 18:42:14 pm »
Hello and welcome to BW forums :)

Your DD sounds lovely, so happy.