Author Topic: Dream Feed-5 month baby waking  (Read 2120 times)

Offline ljearnshaw

• New & Learning The Ropes
  • Showing Appreciation 0
Dream Feed-5 month baby waking
« on: April 30, 2015, 19:00:54 pm »
Hello Everyone,

I'm very new to EASY and have found this forum a fantastic resource. I now hope you can help me after a challenging night with my 5 month old baby last night.

We are now on day 4 of the EASY plan which we started to assist us with LO's nap time issues (difficulty going down/only napping 30 mins) We have seen huge success in this area, yesterday he did 2x 1.5hr naps and a 40 min catnap. Hooray!  :D

My challenge is now the night time which was never an issue before! Previous to EASY he had been sleeping 7pm-4:30am with just one or two wake ups in between to pop the soother back in. The 4:30 wake up was a feed, he would then often go back to sleep for another hour or so 5-6:45.

As per the book we decided to try and get him sleeping through to 7am so we can follow the EASY plan so we started Dream Feeds.....oh dear! I am doing the DF in the bedroom no lights, talking or nappy changing. He's straight up and back down into bassinet. I should also mention that we have taken away the soother. LO is using his thumb now so I tend to leave one arm out the swaddle or sometimes use a grow bag. Heres is a break down of the last 3 nights:

DAY ONE- DF successful (no wake up)

11pm DF
1:30am wakes (fell asleep within 10mins)
2:30 wakes (fell asleep within 10mins)
4:30 wakes (crying PUPD, pat/shhhh)
6:05-6:15 sleep
6:25-6:40 sleep
6:50 EAT (He's breastfed exclusively)

DAY TWO
11:30 DF (wakes 10 mins to sleep)
2:15 wakes (fell asleep within 5 mins)
4:45 wakes (pat/sshhh)
5:30-6 sleep
6-7 (PUPD, Pat shhh quiet from 6:30)
7am EAT

DAY THREE
DF 10:30 (wakes)
11pm sleep
11:45 wakes (pat, sshhh, falls into REM multiple times)
2:45 sleep
3:20 wakes and EAT (I couldn't help it! showed signs of hunger and ate well)  (pat,shhh to sleep)
3:40 sleep