Author Topic: 10 month old twins won't nap!  (Read 3795 times)

Offline Swissmrs

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: June 30, 2015, 14:51:55 pm »
Hello Moms and Dads out there.  This is my first time posting although I read the forum quite regularly.  I guess I've reached a point of desperation with my 10 month old twin girls, who are fantastic and lovely to be around EXCEPT when it's time to take a nap.  They've even slept through the night without any problems since they were around 3 months old. 
I started them on the Baby Whisperer routine at 4 months because they wouldn't nap without being rocked or carried around or bounced and I stopped being able to do that on my own.  Everything worked fine except when it didn't work fine.  They almost always cried themselves to sleep, but at least it took less and less time for that to happen.  They never napped for more than 1.5 hours and even that was rare.  It was generally more like 1 hour at a time, 3 times a day. 
At about 7 months they had a fever and then a major growth spurt and our schedule got off and needed to change.  So, I began the transition from 3 to 2 naps, but it never went smoothly. I began taking them for more walks at nap time in order to be sure that they napped and to avoid all the crying.  I just could't take it anymore.  Now at 10 months they still have about 2 naps a day.  The morning nap is almost always in the stroller for about 1 hour or 1 hour 15 min.  The afternoon nap takes forever to settle them in their crib, sometimes 40 minutes, and then it lasts 1 hour or so IF I get them to sleep.  I know I should be doing PU/PD (or just PD at this age), but I don't have the strength anymore.
Our daily routine looks more or less like this:
6:30-7 - Wake-up, bottle
8:00 -    Breakfast solids
9:45/10 - 11:15 - Walking nap
11:30 - bottle
12:30/1 - Lunch solids
3:00- 4:30 - Nap attempt #2 (doesn't always work)
4:30 - bottle
5:30/6 - Dinner solids
7:30 - bottle