Author Topic: Re: 7m solids/how much/how often?  (Read 1906 times)

Offline T.L.E.

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: July 17, 2015, 10:01:14 am »
Hi! It's my first time here and I have a question related to the same issue: 7-month old LO who started with pureed solids exactly 5 weeks ago. I don't know whether I should start another topic, but this one was so similar to mine that I decided to ask it here, hope it's ok  :)

Tracy says that we should always give solid food first, then milk feed. Here in the forum, however, it seems to be common sense that the feed milk comes first (in this case in a 4-hour routine) and then we should offer (pureed) solids 1 hour later. I live and Germany and I don't know whether it's cultural or whether there is a reason for it, but here food comes first in the meal we're trying to substitute and milk is only given after these meals if the LO is still hungry. In this case, adapting the German customs to a 4-hour routine, I would BF at 7 a.m., no other meal until 11 a.m., when pureed food is served as lunch (with the intention of substituting this meal, so that milk is only given in case the child seems to be hungry after eating). At 3 p.m. I would BF again and at around 6 p.m. milk and cereals would be the dinner. At around 7:30 p.m.  I would BF her again right before going to bed (she does not fall asleep on the breast though ;) ). She still wakes for DF.

I have a lot of questions  ???  :-[ Please help me  :)

1) I personally find BF at 7 a.m., 11 a.m., 3 p.m. and 7 p.m. more practical for routine's sake, in which case I would offer pureed food at noon (after BF) and at 6 p.m. (before BF). Is there any difference for LO if I BF her at 11 a.m. before her "lunch" at noon? I mean in terms of amount of food, learning to substitute milk for solids, etc.?