Author Topic: Implementing EASY with reflux  (Read 1268 times)

Offline Kezzie

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: July 27, 2015, 14:52:52 pm »
Hi All, this is my first time on here and I have a few things I'm not sure about, but sort of confused what they are specifically...

My LO is 10 weeks old, born 3.5 weeks early. Because she was early she originally was too sleepy to feed properly so we were advised to change her nappy before each feed to wake her. We've then stuck with this routine as she has reflux we think so keep her uptight for 20 mins after feeding (don't want to lie her down to change her).

Now I'm trying to get closer to a routine I often have difficulties in keeping her awake after feeding her as sit with her upright and she wants to sleep! When I put her on the change mat she loves it gets all smiley and excited. So now we seem to be in a routine of AESY and not EASY!

I can't find much in the books on how to introduce her to EASY at this age, can anyone offer some advice please? I fed her on demand from the start but she was naturally feeding about every 3 hours, now it seems to vary from 1 to 4 hours, and I can't not feed her....

Thanks

K

Offline becj86

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 346
Re: Implementing EASY with reflux
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2015, 04:08:39 am »
Hi,

Some of the EASY ideas get put to the side when LO has reflux. At this age, really the key is to avoid feeding to sleep, so interacting with her while she's sitting up post-feed may be helpful to separate E from S. I had a happy spitter (would lose his whole feed if I put him straight down on his tummy) but he didn't have the pain for which I am very grateful.

Is your LO's reflux controlled - ie. no pain?

Really what I'd suggest if you do want to get into the EASY swing of things is: