Author Topic: 4 week old will not sleep at night  (Read 1552 times)

Offline lghetti

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: September 27, 2015, 05:09:57 am »
Hello ladies. This is my first time posting here so bear with me!! My lo is 4 weeks old. For the first 3 weeks she was sleeping through the night, well 8-10 hours. Now, for the past week, she absolutely refuses to sleep at night. At first she was napping in the bassinet in my room but now she has been napping in her crib for the past week with no problems. At night, she slept in the co sleeper the first week and then bassinet in my room for the next 2 weeks.

She nurses for 20-30 minutes, 30-45 minutes A time, then wind down for nap time. She takes a pacifier only sometimes for naps and when she is done sucking she spits it out and doesn't cry/wake for it. 

For the past week, I put her down in the bassinet for the night and she wakes 2-3 minutes later. We do that for almost the entire night. If I giver her the pacifier at night, as soon as she spits it out/ falls out she is awake and crying for the pacifier. The only way we have gotten any sleep is by letting her sleep on my chest which i do not feel is safe.

What can we try? I thought maybe she was hot seeing as we were putting her in footy pajamas and swaddle so we tried just t shirt and swaddle, just t shirt and muslin swaddle, gripe water, ceiling fan on, ceiling fan off, nothing has changed. It is like she just will not let her self fall to sleep. As soon as she nods off, she wakes up.

We have not followed an EASY schedule yet, we are still just practicing the routine.

I will try any suggestions!!