Author Topic: 3yo waking at night  (Read 1132 times)

Offline Cambrayl

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: December 02, 2015, 10:08:26 am »
Hi,
I'm new to this and looking for some advice! Will start with a bit of background info.

I have 2 girls age 17mth and 3yrs4mths. My 3yo has always been a good sleeper until about 2 months ago.

She transitioned into a big girl bed at 20mths due to impending arrival of baby and took to it straight away.

She has been dry at night since June so age 2yr10mth, she came to this naturally and I left her in night time pull-ups for a month to make sure she was ready.

She has never woken at night, not even when teething. She has a structured bedtime routine and falls to sleep on her own. There is a dim night light in her room as she became afraid of the dark at around 2and a half years.

Over the last few month she has been waking consistently at night at least 3 times. It started with just one time always 2.30am so we tried to muddle her sleep pattern by disturbing her at 1.30am as thought she was waking due to transitioning to rem sleep. When she woke she was asking to go to the toilet. She had a spate of night time accidents when she had a cold and now associates waking with needing the toilet as she's worrying about wetting the bed. She is still self settling but is waking the entire house up with her nighttime toilet habits. She has to walk past her sisters bedroom to get to our room and isn't particularly quiet so is waking her as well as us!!