Author Topic: 3 month old won't sleep  (Read 845 times)

Offline Ulrica83

• New & Learning The Ropes
  • Showing Appreciation 1
  • First time mom, a new beginner!
3 month old won't sleep
« on: March 11, 2016, 08:15:51 am »
Hi everyone!

(I am new to all of this and English is not my first language - so please forgive me for misspelling and incorrect grammar.)

We have a wonderful little boy, now 3 months and 1 week old. He was born at 41 weeks, normal pregnancy and delivery. Exclusively breast fed. From the age 2-7 weeks he had a mild form of colic, crying almost 2 hours every night and nothing would soothe him - we tried everything. Gladly, this magically disappeared at 7 weeks of age and we could get him going on EASY.

Our 3 hour routine the past three days:

E 7.00
A 7.15
S 8.30-9.45/10.00 (wakes after 45 minutes, we use shh/pat "successfully" every 10-15 minutes after that)

E 10.00
A 10.15
S 11.30-12.45/1.15 (this nap is in the baby stroller as I take a long walk, no need for shh/pat, he sleeps so well in the stroller)

E 1.00/1.15
A 1.15/1.30
S 2.30-3.45/4.00 (wakes after 45 minutes, we use shh/pat "successfully" every 10-15 minutes after that)

E 4.00
A 4.15
CN 5.30-6.15 (no problems here, goes down well, sleeps 30-45 minutes without help)

E 6.45
A 7.00 (changing diaper, wind down, sing a song, cuddle, pacifier)
S 7.15/7.30

DF 10.00 pm
NW + full feed 1.00 am
NW + full feed 4.00 am

My questions are regarding sleep - both naps and night time sleep:

1. He goes down really well for naps, never cries. But he almost always wakes up 30-45 minutes in to a nap. We use a modified version of shh/pat (shhh-ing, but no patting, we just lay a firm hand on his chest as he sleeps on his back) and he falls asleep again within 5 minutes. After this he wakes almost every 10-15 minutes and needs "help" to resettle again. Shh/pat works, but why does he wake so frequently?