Author Topic: 10 week old 4s not going well, would love some advice  (Read 2346 times)

Offline Seansmammy

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
10 week old 4s not going well, would love some advice
« on: April 20, 2016, 12:38:06 pm »
 Hi there, this is my first time using the forum and i would b grateful for any help. My beautiful 10 week old little boy was born by emergency section after 3 days of labour, a mix of exhaustion, pain medication etc meant breastfeeding was very difficult to start. I was demand feeding nearly every hour, and there were 2 weeks where he did not put up weight. This is now sorted, he is a really healthy weight but guilt and fear he was hungry meant I missed all other cues and am just recently starting a sleep routine - hence how I ended up at this point!
We have been trying the 4s but my little boy seems to hate the sitting part, he struggles massively against my shoulder, rubbing his nose and making protest cries. My husband has also tried and the same result. Shush- pat dies not seem to be going much better he fights being put on his side and the crying seems to continue.
Last night he woke at 1.30 trying to get himself back to sleep he kept jerking himself awake, I had no idea how to help, the same again at 5.30 and he has been pretty much awake since then. I managed to get him for 2 half hour naps. It feels like he has gotten into a constant cycle of being overtired and then under tired when I put him down if that makes sense?! He is almost constantly yawning as he only has short naps so is still tired when he wakes up.
I am literally weeping here as I write this as I feel like such a terrible failure and am so worried that I'm doing my little boy harm by not helping him sleep.  If anyone has any advice is appreciate it. Is sitting usually a problem? Are there any videos etc that d nonstarter shush pat? Does anyone know where I can start to break the overtired cycle? Thanks so much in advance.

Offline creations