Author Topic: Breast milk intolerance? Does it exist?  (Read 1977 times)

Offline Olga lab

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: June 14, 2016, 19:25:05 pm »
Hello ladies.
Quick question, is there anything like breast milk intolerance?
My ds seems to be better off on the formula (I had to give it to him for 2 days due to some meds I had to take).
He is a refluxer and also has diary allergy (which got better when I stopped eating diary myself..)
Any ideas?
Tia!

Offline trimbler

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 37
Re: Breast milk intolerance? Does it exist?
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2016, 19:41:21 pm »
Hi there, I'm no expert but I've never heard of an intolerance to breast milk itself, however there are many substances which may pass into our milk which our LOs may be intolerant to - for example, 'dairy' (which I think could be the lactose and/or protein), as you've experienced with your own LO. Can I ask what his symptoms are, to give others a better idea? Some LOs who experience intolerance to cow's milk are also sensitive to soy, so you could try cutting that out of your diet if you like? Wheat/gluten could be another culprit, some mums cut out eggs and all sorts of other things but I'd be inclined to discuss with your doctor before trying a strict elimination diet - after all, you need to make sure you're eating well yourself if you want to breastfeed :) Was the formula he tried for those two days based on cow's milk or soy?

Offline weaver

• Showing Appreciation 210
  • May your choices reflect your hopes not your fears
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2016, 19:47:12 pm »
It's completely normal that his dairy allergy would improve when you stopped eating dairy.  I would ask if you stopped eating *all* dairy including hidden dairy? If you didn't, that might account for the improvement on formula. Also depends a bit on what's in the formula, that'll give you a hint on what you might consider excluding from your diet while BFing.