Author Topic: 3 weeks into EASY and still struggling  (Read 1534 times)

Offline Walkernew

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: June 18, 2016, 02:18:24 am »
I'm new to the Baby Whisperer, and I'm a huge believer in what I read in Tracy's book, but struggling with the application.

My baby is 7 mos old, breastfed. I was feeding on demand previously. Since birth, he never really slept that much during the day - not that he wasn't tired, but maybe he didn't know how to go to sleep. At 5 or 6 weeks, we started the eat-play-sleep routine upon friend's recommendation of Babywise. But I didn't really have a schedule, it just followed that pattern all day. At 7 or 8 weeks, we started using a swing during the day to try to get him to nap. He finally napped, and was sleeping a lot during the day. We read not to keep him up more than 1 hr at a time, so all day long we would keep putting him in the swing after each hour of waketime. When we started that, he immediately started sleeping better at night. He would go to bed at 7/7:30, sleep until 2 or 3 or 4, nurse, and then about every 40-60 min from then on, he would wake up and eat, until I got up for good at 7 am. We also would rock him a lot for naps and bedtime, and sing or play music, and stroke his face. It has gotten continuously harder to keep him asleep at night and to enforce naps. I realized all along that I was using some techniques that many people frown on, but I was desperate for some quiet time during the day and a little sleep at night. (I'm pretty tired by nature, need about 11 hours myself. This is our first baby too.)