Author Topic: Trying to transition from rocking to sleep / falling asleep on a parent's chest  (Read 872 times)

Offline oandco

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0

This is my first time posting, so I apologize if there are better answers somewhere that I haven't already found. Our LO is just over 18 weeks, and my wife has had her on a loose schedule for a couple of months now, here's what it looks like today (it has changed as she has):

Wake 6AM, then feed and chill
Nap by 7:30AM, typically 60-90 minutes.
Activity / Feed until late morning
11 or so is mid-day nap. Sometimes 30-45 min, sometimes 90 min
Activity / feed until late afternoon
Short nap late in the day around 4-ish
Feeding between 6 and 6:30
Bedtime at 7-ish
"Dream Feed" at 11-ish
Night feed around 3-ish

LO slept with us early on, and then we transitioned her to napping in the crib in month 2, and later sleeping in the crib. The challenge has been getting her down for naps and bedtime. It seems that we have trained her to fall asleep on us, so even putting her in the crib drowsy results in crying. She also typically sleeps on her tummy - yes, we know all of the advice not to do that, but she really does prefer it.

We have noticed in the past that if she is crying heavily at bedtime and isn't settling, just leaving the nursery will boost her spirit instantly and the crying stops - sometimes she even becomes playful and giggly. At other times in the daytime though she will just lay in the crib by herself, or stare at our baby monitor camera happily, so it feels like it is a combination of night time sleep and the crib.