Author Topic: Newbie! ... and Dreaded 4 Month Regression!  (Read 1441 times)

Offline katethoren

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
Newbie! ... and Dreaded 4 Month Regression!
« on: December 20, 2016, 16:21:56 pm »
Hi Mamas -

This is my first time joining the forums but have read the book and in need of connecting with other moms! Our LO is 4 months and I fear we've hit regression mode! Looking to learn from all of you.

We have our guy on a schedule (for the last 3 days) of naps at 9am (2 hrs), 12pm (2 hours) and 3pm (1 hr) but we are really struggling with bed time. Any thoughts or existing posts I can check out? Also, our LO just missed his 9am nap and finally went down at 10am. How long should we let him sleep before waking? Concerned he'll get too close to his 12pm and his schedule will be off for the day - but I know he's exhausted!

Thanks mamas!

Offline SDER

• BW Aficionado
  • Showing Appreciation 7
  • The loves of my life <3
Re: Newbie! ... and Dreaded 4 Month Regression!
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2016, 15:26:38 pm »
Hi there and welcome!

The 4 month mark seems to be a notoriously difficult period for most.  A whole bunch of factors can influence sleep.

To answer your question, EASY is more of a routine than it is a schedule.  If you can have LO down at the same time every day, more power to you, but if it takes longer to put him down, then by all means let him sleep as long as he needs to and move his next nap back until he shows signs of being tired again.

From what I see, you seem to have LO on a 3 hour EASY.  Usually, around 4 months, they are ready to gradually move to a 4h EASY.  Perhaps, the problem with bedtime is that he is undertired.

Here are a couple of posts that might help you out a bit.
3-4hr EASY Transition – In 5 Minute Increments
Time to Transition - 3hr, 3.5hr or 4hr EASY
Average A times- BOOKMARK ME!

Hope this helps a bit.  If you have any more questions, don't hesitate to ask!