Author Topic: Starting a routine at 16 weeks  (Read 2402 times)

Offline SpiritedLIttleOne

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: May 23, 2017, 10:09:33 am »
Hello, I'm a newbie to the forum and only recently discovered The Baby Whisperer. I wish someone had told me about it sooner!

I have a spirited little one with lungs of steel, who has been extremely alert (so say the professionals) since a couple of days old and isn't enjoying all the changes I'm making in her life!

I started logging her sleep and feeds about a month ago and with her difficulty in transitioning between sleep cycles, no bed time or nap time routine... In fact no routine or consistency at all, it looked like a mess. I stopped feeding on demand, transitioned her to her own crib for nap times and more recently for night time also (she used to sleep on me - I know, I know, accidental parenting and she used me as a prop every time she woke in the night - which was a lot). About 2 weeks ago I started implementing a proper bed time routine and a week ago a nap routine too. I spaced out feeds to see what she could do and watched for sleep cues. Oh, and we started using shh-pat too! No wonder she doesn't know what's going on!! She's  EBF (used to be a snacker!) had a tongue tie and latch problems up until she was 8 weeks or so, but is around 14lbs now, so no issues there.

So right now I have a 16 week old that I started on a 4 hour easy routine a few days ago. Im wondering if I've gone in a little heavy handed? She's quite resistant to nap times and bed time, despite the calm activity before hand (e.g. walking around the house with me, on her floor mat) and routine.

Bed time routine is story, bath, massage, feed and bed - should I put feed before bed to avoid accidental parenting?