Author Topic: Are all night wakes created equal?... Trying to pin down cause  (Read 1684 times)

Offline LaraAndrea

• BW Devotee
  • Showing Appreciation 15
Are all night wakes created equal?... Trying to pin down cause
« on: September 09, 2017, 11:23:38 am »
This may be an extension of another issue (2-1 transition) but it feels different...

I have been battling the 2-1 transition for a couple months and with help from members here I was able to hold on to the 2nd cat nap for some time. Now, it is extremely rare to get the 2nd nap even with APOP (maybe once/week). I have accepted this fact and have tried to prepare myself for some crankiness and disturbed nights.

Up until this point my LO has been a good night sleeper, aside from cutting new teeth or an occasional off routine day.

We have had some OT nights during this transition phase. It has always manifested as an EW or 1-2 brief NW that she usually will settle on her own. They tend to sound like an abrupt cry out then mantra/moan she will usually have her head down and eyes closed.

To curb the OT during this period I have been putting LO down early for BT and generally it has been working.

Now, the last couple nights LO has had multiple NW 4-5 most of which require some brief settling, the crying is harder and she is squirming around some. It does seem like she might be uncomfortable?? I did notice some increased gas the past couple days (not sure why).

This may be a silly question, but am I right to suspect that these NW are if a different cause than OT? Or is this just another manifestation of OT?

Offline Buntybear

• Food Allergies
  • Forum Moderator
  • Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 130
  • Just the wheat allergy to go now!
Re: Are all night wakes created equal?... Trying to pin down cause
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2017, 21:46:44 pm »