Author Topic: Hopeless to achieve any improvements and ready to sleeptrain my 13 wo - help!  (Read 4062 times)

Offline Newmom2017

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0

Apologies in advance as this is my first time posting on any forums but I am so desperate for help so that decided to give it a try. 
My 13 wo son was never a good sleeper, sometimes I link it to the fact that I had a difficult birth but who knows! I am so keen to follow EASY but it is almost impossible due to the nap issues we are having:

I try to put him down for his first nap 1.5-2h after the wake up time depending on hissleeping cues (ie rubbing eyes, yawning, etc). I sit him on my laps in the dark nursery and  read a story for max 5 mins, put white noise,  swaddle  (although he hates it and recently mastered getting out of the swaddle very quickly at both day and night times), put a pacifier, hold in my arms, sing a lullaby and he falls asleep quite quickly. However, he then sleeps for 30 mins only and wakes up all smiley and happy. I am absolutely confident that 30 mins are not enough for him and try to resettle him back to sleep with no success. After that he stays awake for 30-45 mins max and gets too tired to be able to fall asleep again  at all which results in a fussy baby all day along. Given the naps duration, it is very difficult to have EASY periods of roughly 4 hours each as he is bottle fed.