Author Topic: How to improve nap times on the 3 hr Easy routine  (Read 1779 times)

Offline kdruve

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
How to improve nap times on the 3 hr Easy routine
« on: August 20, 2005, 03:03:05 am »
Hi Everyone,
This is my first time to use this site, and am hoping to receive some much needed advice. I have a 3 week old who I am trying to put on the 3 hour EASY routine. Firstly, is it too early to be trying this? Should I just let him set the pace at this early stage? My main concern is that my bub is not getting enough sleep on easy. For example, I am trying to feed him every 3 hours (nearly always have to wake him up) and it normally takes an hour to feed him. (I am offering breast and then giving him a full bottle as I do not seem to have enough milk supply). He nearly always gets sleepy by the end of the bottle, but takes a long time to get to sleep once I put him down. Sometimes he only has 30mins or less left to nap before I have to wake him for his next feed. I am worried that I am not letting him get enough sleep and that he is getting overtired.
Also, should I be doing the extra cluster feeds of any evening. If I feed him that much I dont think he will take much at the df and then will wake up earlier in the night than if I gave him a big feed around 11pm?

Offline Keren

• New, But Posting Steadily!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2005, 10:25:29 am »
Hello Karen!!! 

Welcome to the boards!  :D

From your post are you saying that it is taking almost 2.5hrs to get him back to sleep after he wakes and gets a feed? If so I would definately let him sleep longer than the 30mins to the next feed. I would let him sleep 1.5hrs at that stage. Ie 4hrs from when he last woke up.